NETTLETON’S JEWELLERY HISTORY
The name Nettleton has been synonymous with Jewellery in Ontario since the Late 1800’s when J.E. Nettleton opened the first store in Penetaguishene, Ontario.
Striking out on his own in 1916, at only twenty five years old, J.E.’s son George G. Nettleton, moved to Ottawa. With a local business partner William M. Haskett, they opened Nettleton & Haskett Watchmakers at 196 Queen St. and within the year had outgrown that location and moved to 93 Bank St., a stone’s throw from Parliament Hill.
It was a tumultuous time to start a business in Ottawa with World War 1 now in its third year. One of the unique aspects of the store at this time was the reputation Nettleton had earned as watch inspectors for drivers, engineers and conductors of the major railway companies of the time, Canadian National, Canadian Pacific, the Grand Trunk Railway as well as New York Central Railways. This was a business relationship that would continue into the 1980’s. Undaunted, despite the challenges of the times, George’s prospects improved and in 1923, now the sole owner, moved to 108 Bank Street.
In 1924 George’s younger brother Harold Nettleton moved from Penetaguishene to Ottawa to work for George. Despite the harsh years of the great depression and World War II, Nettleton’s Jewellery continued its success as a quality family-owned and operated business focused on personalized service.